Boorowa Rotary Club moves into new district

District 9705 Governor Dr Michael Moore AM.

District 9705 Governor Dr Michael Moore AM.

From July 1, 2020, two Rotary Districts - 9700 and 9710 - will merge to become District 9705.

This new merger will include Boorowa Rotary Club.

With 83 Rotary Clubs and about 2,300 Rotarians, the new District runs from Narromine to Hay through Tumbarumba to Eden and up the coast to Berry.

The merger aims not only to reduce administrative costs but also to allow Rotarians to tap into a larger network of diverse talents and resources in other Rotary Clubs, to further their local and international projects.

Like Rotary Club Presidents, District Governors serve for only one year.

The inaugural District Governor for District 9705 in 2020-21 will be Dr Michael Moore AM from Canberra.

The two Districts have been joined previously, not only back when all of Australia was one Rotary District, but also from 1951 to 1977.

When it was found that communications and geographical challenges made it difficult to work together across such a large area, that District was split.

Now, however, modern communications and the use of six "Area Governors" supporting the District Governor and each working with not more than 15 Rotary Clubs, should facilitate the development of joint regional, as well as local and international projects.

Most Rotary projects are local, run by the local Rotary Club(s), but some are best coordinated centrally by District Committees.

An example is Rotary's Youth Exchange program, where much of the administration involved - visas, travel, briefings, student welfare, educational agreements - is largely the same for everyone.

Likewise, Rotary's support for the world-wide eradication of polio involves Rotary Clubs working together across the world with the UN and other international agencies

For more information, from July 1 visit